Independent and reader-supported. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are never sold, and every figure says where it came from. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure
Short answer
Hanging inverted separates the lower lumbar disc spaces by 0.3 to 4.0 mm on lateral X-ray (20 chronic back pain patients, up to 20 minutes) and drops lumbar muscle activity. It also raises intraocular pressure from about 14 to 36 mmHg and blood pressure to about 146/97 mmHg in healthy young men at full inversion. The one randomised trial, 24 people awaiting disc surgery, found no difference in pain scores and fewer surgeries in the inversion group.
An inversion table is a padded bed on a pivot with a clamp for your ankles. You strap in, lean back, and gravity does the rest, up to and including hanging you upside down. The pitch is spinal decompression, and unlike most of our recovery tools shelf, the pitch is physically true: the X-rays were taken forty years ago, and the discs do separate.
What the pitch leaves out is the other half of the physiology. Blood goes where gravity sends it, and when your head is below your heart the pressure in your eyes and arteries climbs in seconds. That is why the manufacturer’s own manual opens with a physician’s approval and a list of two dozen reasons not to, and why the right way to shop for one is to buy the ankle lock first, the safety list second, and the lumbar pad last.
What an inversion table actually does to your spine
The measurements are old and consistent. Nosse, in 1978, inverted 20 healthy men for one minute and found their spines measurably longer and the electrical activity in their lumbar muscles lower than lying flat. Gianakopoulos and colleagues, in 1985, took lateral X-rays of 20 people with chronic low back pain on three inversion devices for up to 20 minutes and measured lower lumbar disc-space distraction of 0.3 to 4.0 mm in every case; 13 of 16 with symptoms said they felt better. Kane and colleagues, the same year, found separation at the front, back and nerve-root openings of most lumbar levels in 15 healthy men after ten minutes fully inverted. deVries measured resting lumbar muscle activity down 28% after two minutes inverted, against 7% in controls.
So the stretch is real: a few millimetres at the discs, a quieter set of back muscles, for as long as you hang. The question is whether minutes of that change anything once you stand up, and the evidence for that is a different, thinner shelf.
Does it help back pain, sciatica or a herniated disc?
The one randomised trial is Prasad and colleagues, Disability and Rehabilitation, 2012, from a neurosurgery centre in Newcastle. Twenty-four people listed for surgery for a single-level lumbar disc protrusion were randomised to physiotherapy with or without inversion. At six weeks, assessed blind, 10 of 13 in the inversion group (77%) had avoided surgery against about 22% of controls. That is the number the sales pages quote. The rest of the result is that pain, disability, quality of life and MRI scores were no different between groups, the authors called it a feasibility study and asked for a multicentre trial, and in the fourteen years since none has appeared. One small trial where the endpoint was a surgeon’s decision, in unblinded patients, is a reason to try inversion before an operation if your surgeon agrees. It is not evidence that a table treats sciatica.
A Korean trial (Kim and colleagues, 2013) randomised 47 women with chronic non-specific back pain to three minutes, three times, four days a week for eight weeks, lying flat, at 30° or at 60°, and found pain scores improved most at 60°, with no sham arm and 14 to 18 people per group. The Cochrane review of traction for low back pain (32 trials, 2,762 people) found low-to-moderate quality evidence that traction makes little or no difference to pain, function or return to work, with or without sciatica, and that 7 trials reported harms including worse pain and later surgery. It covers manual and mechanical traction and does not name inversion, so read it as the verdict on pulling spines apart in general, not on tables in particular.
Where that leaves a buyer: the stretch feels good to many people and there is a plausible reason it should. The evidence that it changes the course of back pain, sciatica or a disc protrusion is one pilot and no follow-up. Our heating pad page is the one place on this site where a back-pain product has a guideline behind it; this is not that.
What it does to your eyes and your blood pressure
This is the part of the physiology the listings do not print, and it is better measured than the back.
- Eyes. Friberg and Weinreb, in JAMA in 1985, measured intraocular pressure in 16 healthy people sitting and fully inverted: 14.1 mmHg became 35.6 mmHg, more than double, with orbital congestion, eyelid petechiae and subconjunctival haemorrhages seen. In people with open-angle glaucoma, pressure went from 21.3 to 37.6 mmHg at five minutes. A third study of 26 people found the rise held for the whole three-minute hang and reversed on standing. The mechanism is venous: blood pooling in the head raises the pressure the eye drains against.
- Blood pressure and heart rate. Vehrs and colleagues measured a mean inverted blood pressure of 146/97 mmHg in 19 young men, 158/101 with exercise while inverted, and no adaptation after five weeks of training. Gianakopoulos’s back pain patients rose by about 17 mmHg systolic and 16 diastolic on average, with individual rises to 34 and 50. Heart rate falls. A randomised study of 60 women found two minutes of inversion raised both numbers significantly.
- Side effects seen in the studies. Petechiae around the eyes and throat, persistent headache and persistent blurred vision in several of Gianakopoulos’s 20 patients, and one published retinal tear presumed linked to gravity boots.
All of those numbers were taken at 90°, full inversion. No study we found gives the dose by angle, which is the number a buyer most wants. The manufacturers’ advice to start at 20 to 30° is reasonable physiology, not measured safety.
Who should not use one
Teeter’s owner’s manual says, before anything else, not to use the equipment without a licensed physician’s approval, and then lists, as a non-exhaustive set: middle-ear infection, glaucoma, retinal detachment, conjunctivitis, heart or circulatory disorders, high blood pressure, recent stroke or transient ischaemic attack, cerebral sclerosis, osteoporosis, recent or unhealed fractures, spinal injury, medullary pins or implanted orthopaedic supports, acutely swollen joints, hiatal or ventral hernia, extreme obesity, pregnancy, and anticoagulants including high-dose aspirin. The same manual caps users at 6 ft 6 in and 300 lb and bans footwear above the ankle bone in the clamps. Cleveland Clinic’s physiatrist adds low blood pressure, POTS, acid reflux and brain injury to the ask-first list; Mayo Clinic names high blood pressure, heart disease and glaucoma as the reasons it is “not safe for everyone.”
That list is most of the people who buy a back-pain product. If several of those are you, the stretch is not worth the posture, and a heating pad does more for a sore back with none of it.
The spec that matters most: the ankle lock
An inversion table’s safety is the clamp around your ankles, because at full inversion it is the only thing between you and the floor head-first. The record is specific:
- Recalls. The US Consumer Product Safety Commission recalled about 22,000 ICON NordicTrack and Reebok inversion benches in December 2007 after ankle clamps released (5 injuries); about 2,000 Stamina tables in January 2008 for centre-weld failure; and about 33,000 ICON NordicTrack, Gold’s Gym and Weider tables in April 2010 after ankle clamps released or rotation straps broke, with 75 incidents and 23 injuries, including head and neck injuries. Dick’s Sporting Goods pulled two Fitness Gear tables in 2015 after falls when ankle locks were not engaged.
- Spinal cord injuries. Jung and colleagues, in Healthcare in 2021, reported three cervical spinal cord injuries, including a C5–6 dislocation, from feet slipping out of single-pin ankle locks between 2015 and 2019, two on public outdoor tables. Their point was that the users were not misusing the tables.
- Regulatory gap. Kassay and colleagues, in Disability and Rehabilitation in 2023, note that the FDA’s adverse-event database holds reports of spinal cord injury, fractures, lacerations and death from non-powered traction devices, that reports have risen since 2011, and that most tables are sold as fitness equipment outside medical device regulation.
What to buy, then: a two-stage lock (a ratchet or cam clamp plus a secondary pin or gravity-activated lock), a clamp you can reach without folding in half (Teeter’s extra-long handle exists because bending to the ankles while strapped in is itself a fall risk), a stated weight capacity you are well under, a rear cross-bar or tether that sets a maximum angle so you cannot go past it by accident, and a frame that locks in storage. A heavier frame is a steadier one; the tables here weigh 60 to 74 lb, listing-stated.
The best inversion tables: our picks
Every spec below is listing-stated on 26 October 2026, read from a US delivery session. We have not hung on any of them. All of the full tables here sit in Amazon’s sports category.
| Listing-stated, 26 Oct 2026 | Ankle system | Angle control | Capacity | Table weight | Extras |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teeter FitSpine X3 | wrap-around cups, EZ-Reach long handle, secondary gravity lock | tether, 20/40/60° marks | 300 lb, to 6 ft 6 in | 66 lb | lumbar bridge, 8 acupressure nodes, traction handles |
| Teeter FitSpine LX9 | same as X3 | tether, 20/40/60° marks | 300 lb | 74.1 lb | boarding platform, storage caddy |
| Innova ITX9600 | reversible ankle holders, 3-position pin | 6-position pin | 300 lb, 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in | not stated | adjustable headrest, folds |
| Innova ITX9900 | large front / small rear holders | 6-position pin with cover | 300 lb, 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in | not stated | air lumbar support |
| Innova ITM5900 | large front / small rear holders | 6-position pin with cover | 300 lb, 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in | 60 lb | heat and vibration lumbar pad |
| YOLEO Gravity | ratchet ankle lock + safety pin | adjustable rear cross-bar | not stated | not stated | memory-foam backrest |
| Relife mini (extension bench) | none, feet on floor | 135/180/225° frame | 330 lb | not stated | spine rollers |
The table to buy if you are going to hang fully inverted
Teeter FitSpine X3 inversion table, 300 lb
The ankle system is the reason to pay for it. The listing states patented wrap-around ankle cups, an extra-long stainless-steel EZ-Reach handle so you lock in without folding to your feet, and a secondary gravity-activated lock behind the main one, which is the two-stage design the spinal cord injury report asked for. The rest is a flexing backrest that lets your body slide for more stretch, a tether with preset marks at 20, 40 and 60°, traction and stretch handles, an adjustable lumbar bridge and eight acupressure nodes you can leave off, a 300 lb and 6 ft 6 in limit, UL safety certification and FDA registration, and 66 lb of steel frame, all listing-stated. Sold and shipped by Teeter when we checked, which also means the warranty is the maker’s. The nodes and the bridge are comfort; the lock is the product.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
Teeter FitSpine LX9 inversion table, boarding platform
The X3 with a step. The listing adds a boarding platform on an arched frame so you climb on rather than back on to it, a storage caddy, and eight more pounds of frame (74.1 lb), with the same EZ-Reach two-stage ankle system, the same 20/40/60° tether, the same 300 lb cap and the same integrated lumbar bridge and nodes. If getting on and off a tilting bed is the part that worries you, or the user is older, the platform is worth the difference. Sold by Teeter, shipped by Amazon when we checked.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
The tables most people buy
Innova ITX9600 inversion table, reversible ankle holders
The table most “best inversion table” lists put first, and the one with the longest record on Amazon. The listing states a six-position angle pin with a protective cover rather than a strap, a three-position inversion pin, reversible ergonomic ankle holders, a long padded backrest with an adjustable headrest, foam handlebars, a fold for storage, and a range of 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in at 300 lb (one bullet says 350; take the lower number). What it lacks against the Teeter is the secondary ankle lock and the long handle: you bend to your ankles to set the clamp. For shallow angles and a careful user it is the sensible floor; for full inversion we would spend more. Sold by Amazon.com, and it read “only 9 left in stock” when we checked.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
Innova ITX9900 inversion table with air lumbar support
The ITX9600’s frame with an inflatable lumbar pad you pump to the arch you want, which is the one accessory on these tables with an obvious mechanism: a lordosis support under the low back focuses the stretch there. The listing states the same six-position pin with cover, a large front and smaller rear ankle holder to spread the load off the ankle bones, a 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in range and 300 lb. Same caveat on the single-stage ankle lock. Sold by Amazon.com when we checked.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
Innova ITM5900 heat and massage inversion table
The Innova frame with a heated, vibrating lumbar pad that runs the length of the spine, listing-stated, with auto and manual modes. Heat on a sore lower back is the one thing on this page with a clinical guideline behind it (see our heating pad guide), so a warm pad on a 20° tilt is a defensible way to spend ten minutes; the vibration is comfort. The listing states a 300 lb cap, a 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in range, the six-position covered pin and a 60 lb frame. The pad is corded, so the table lives near an outlet. Sold by Amazon.com when we checked.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
YOLEO Gravity heavy-duty inversion table
The budget table whose listing describes the ankle system properly: an adjustable ratchet ankle lock plus a safety lock pin, on an integrated steel frame, with a memory-foam backrest and an adjustable rear cross-bar that sets the maximum angle. The listing does not state the weight capacity or the frame weight, and the brand has no track record outside Amazon, so if you are large or plan to go past 45°, the Innova’s stated 300 lb or the Teeter’s two-stage lock is the safer buy. Sold by Amazon.com.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
The “mini inversion table” is a different machine
Relife mini inversion table, back extension bench with rollers
Sold under the inversion name, but nothing inverts: it is a padded bench on an angled frame (135, 180 or 225°, listing-stated) that you lie back over, with rollers along the spine and a 330 lb cap. What it does is extend the lumbar spine and open the front of the hips and chest, which is the McKenzie-style movement some backs love and some cannot tolerate. It carries none of the eye and blood pressure effects of hanging, which for the people on the contraindication list above is its whole appeal. The listing had few reviews when we checked and the brand is new; the mechanism is simple enough that we would still start here over a full table if lumbar extension is the stretch you are after. Sold by Relife Sports, shipped by Amazon.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
How to use an inversion table
The protocol below is the manufacturer’s and Cleveland Clinic’s, which agree, with the trial dose for scale:
- Angle. Start at 20 to 30°, where the tether or cross-bar stops you. Teeter marks 20, 40 and 60°; the one trial that varied the angle used 30° and 60°. Full inversion is where every eye and blood pressure number above was taken, and nothing in the trials needs it.
- Time. One to two minutes (Teeter) or 30 to 45 seconds (Cleveland Clinic) to start. Build to three to five minutes over weeks. The trial used three minutes, three times.
- Frequency over duration. Teeter’s phrase. Short, daily, rather than long, weekly.
- Come up slowly. Blood pressure and eye pressure fall back on standing; coming up fast is where the dizziness lives. Rest upright for a minute before stepping off.
- Stop at pressure in the eyes or ears, headache, blurred vision, or any pain that is sharp rather than stretched. Those are the side effects Gianakopoulos’s patients reported, and they are the signal to come up.
- Then move. The traction review and the back pain guidelines point the same way: the exercise after is the treatment, the stretch is the warm-up.
Inversion table vs the rest of the shelf
For a stiff, achy lower back:
- A heating pad has moderate-quality guideline evidence and none of the contraindications.
- A foam roller extends the thoracic spine on the floor for a tenth of the price and no clamp.
- A back massager or a massage chair is the kneading alternative; the chair’s one trial is about as thin as the table’s.
- A TENS unit is the other thirty-dollar back pain device, with contested evidence and no posture.
- A PEMF mat is what the sales pages reach for when “decompression” has been used up.
What the table uniquely does is a traction stretch you cannot get on the floor. If that is the sensation your back wants, and the list above does not include you, the Teeter’s ankle lock is where the money goes.
What we have not measured
Every spec here is listing-stated as of 26 October 2026. We have not assembled, hung on, or load-tested any of these tables.
The measurement the category owes is the one the listings never give: the force on the ankle clamp. A load cell in series with the ankle cups, logged while a 150 lb and a 250 lb user go from 20° to 90°, would put a number on what the lock holds and how much the two-stage Teeter design adds over a single pin, which is the whole safety case. Alongside it: a goniometer on the actual angle at each tether mark (the stated 20/40/60° has no stated tolerance), the time to balance-point with the height set per the manual, and an automatic blood pressure cuff on one of us at 20°, 40° and 60° for three minutes each, which is the dose-by-angle curve no published study gives. The eye pressure measurement needs an ophthalmologist and a tonometer, and we are not going to improvise it. All of it n=1, which for a safety number is a limitation worth repeating.
What we would buy
If you will invert past 45°, or anyone older or heavier will use it: the Teeter FitSpine X3, for the two-stage ankle lock, or the LX9 if getting on and off is the hard part.
If you will stay shallow and are careful with the clamp: the Innova ITX9600, or the ITM5900 if you want heat on the lower back while you hang.
If what you actually want is a lumbar extension stretch and none of the hanging: the Relife bench, which is a different machine with a confusing name.
If you are on the list above: none of them, and a heating pad instead. Our how we test page says what every figure here is and is not.
More Recovery Tools guides How we test
Questions buyers actually ask
Do inversion tables work for back pain?
For the minutes you hang, yes: lumbar muscle activity drops and the lower discs separate by a measurable few millimetres. Whether that changes the pain a week later is not established. The Cochrane review of traction for low back pain found little or no difference from traction in general, and the one randomised inversion trial, 24 people awaiting surgery for a single-level disc protrusion, found no difference in pain or disability scores, although fewer of the inversion group went on to surgery. Treat it as a stretch that feels good, with a safety list attached.
How long should you use an inversion table?
Start with one to two minutes at 20 to 30 degrees, which is Teeter's own advice, or 30 to 45 seconds, which is Cleveland Clinic's. Build to three to five minutes over weeks. The one dose used in a trial was three minutes, three times, at 30 or 60 degrees, four days a week. The eye and blood pressure measurements below were taken at full inversion over two to ten minutes, which is why nobody recommends starting there.
Who should not use an inversion table?
Anyone with glaucoma, retinal detachment or other eye disease; high blood pressure, heart disease or a history of stroke; pregnancy; osteoporosis, unhealed fractures or spinal injury; a hiatal or ventral hernia; a middle-ear infection; anyone on blood thinners; and anyone over the table's stated height or weight limit. That is Teeter's own list, and it opens with the words that the equipment should not be used without a licensed physician's approval.
Is an inversion table good for sciatica or a herniated disc?
The only randomised evidence is a 24-person pilot in people listed for surgery for a single-level lumbar disc protrusion: 77% of those who added inversion to physiotherapy avoided surgery at the time of assessment against about 22% of those who did not, but their pain, disability and MRI scores were no different. The authors called for a bigger trial and none has been published. It is a reason to try one under a clinician's eye, not proof.
What is a mini inversion table?
A different machine. The products sold as mini inversion tables are back-extension benches: a padded, angled frame you drape backwards over, with rollers along the spine. Nothing inverts; your feet stay on the floor. They stretch the front of the body and extend the lumbar spine, which some backs like and some do not. They do not decompress the discs by hanging, and they do not carry the eye and blood pressure effects of a real inversion.
Can inversion tables be dangerous?
The hazards are two. The posture itself raises blood pressure and intraocular pressure sharply, which is why the contraindication list is long. And the ankle lock is the only thing holding you: regulators have recalled tens of thousands of tables whose ankle clamps released, with dozens of injuries, and surgeons have reported cervical spinal cord injuries from feet slipping out of single-pin locks. Buy the ankle system first and the table second.
Sources
What the figures and claims above rest on. Each was read on the date given; where a figure is manufacturer-stated, the manufacturer's own page is the source.
- Traction for low-back pain with or without sciatica
- Inversion therapy in patients with pure single level lumbar discogenic disease: a pilot randomized trial
- Inversion devices: their role in producing lumbar distraction
- Ocular manifestations of gravity inversion
- Effect of inverted body position on intraocular pressure
- Inversion Table Fall Injury, the Phantom Menace: Three Case Reports on Cervical Spinal Cord Injury The fall injuries behind this page's setup warnings.
- Recommendations for inversion table therapy
Size it, wire it, price it — before you order anything.
A spreadsheet that sizes your heater in kW, prices the 240V circuit, calculates chiller horsepower for your ambient temperature, and totals the installed cost. One email, no sequence.
- Heater kW calculator
- Circuit & permit costs
- Chiller sizing
- Installed-cost total
Prices and specifications change constantly in this category. We re-verify every figure on this page against manufacturer sources on a rolling basis; the update date above is when that last happened. Spot something stale? Tell us.