The best TENS unit for home use, and what the evidence says it can do

Three TENS units from the listings, judged on the specs that change the experience: channels, adjustable pulse settings, pads and power. Plus the trial evidence for back pain, which is weaker than the packaging suggests.

Independent and reader-supported. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are never sold, and every figure says where it came from. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.Full disclosure

Short answer

The best TENS unit for home use is a dual-channel, rechargeable unit with separate controls for each channel, such as the AUVON 20-mode. A 2022 meta-analysis of 381 trials found pain lower during or right after TENS than with a sham device, at moderate certainty; for chronic low back pain specifically, the placebo-controlled trials conflict.

A TENS unit is a small battery-powered pulse generator, two or four wires, and sticky gel pads. It sends a current through the skin at a set frequency and pulse width, strong enough to tingle, ideally not strong enough to make the muscle jump. The differences between units are how much of that you control, battery life, and the pad bill.

What it does for pain is a separate, less flattering question. This page answers both, and sits in our recovery tools section.

What is the best TENS unit?

For a first unit, a dual-channel rechargeable one with independent channel controls: two areas at two strengths, no battery habit. Three listings fit, each for a different reason:

  • First unit, most people: the AUVON dual-channel 20-mode. Independent channels, rechargeable, two pad sizes in the box.
  • Wants TENS and EMS programs in a pocket-size unit: the AVCOO 30-mode.
  • Wants a long-standing clinical-supply brand: the TENS 7000 rechargeable, sold by Amazon itself.
Our pick · First unit, most people Amazon

AUVON dual-channel TENS unit, 20 modes

A rechargeable two-channel unit with preset programs. The spec that matters is that channel A and channel B take separate modes and separate intensities, the listing states, so a shoulder and a lower back do not have to share one setting. It ships with four 2-inch square pads and four 2 x 4 inch pads, which the listing says stick for up to 45 uses. The listing does not publish its frequency or pulse-width range, so you are choosing presets, not setting parameters.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Our pick · TENS plus EMS, travel size Amazon

AVCOO 30-mode TENS and EMS unit

A two-channel TENS and EMS unit the listing gives as 4.8 x 1.3 x 0.5 inches, with 30 modes, 30 intensity levels and up to 30 hours of use per charge. It comes with twelve pads in three shapes, from 1 x 2 inches to 2 x 4 inches, which the listing says can be reused more than 50 times. The small pads are the reason to choose it: they suit wrists, elbows and knees, where a 2 x 4 inch pad overlaps the joint.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Our pick · Clinical-style brand, sold by Amazon Amazon

TENS 7000 rechargeable TENS unit

A rechargeable version of the TENS 7000, a long-running physiotherapy-supply line, sold and shipped by Amazon.com. The listing states stimulation up to 100 mA and a built-in battery, and includes four pads. The older battery-powered TENS 7000’s manual publishes adjustable pulse rate (2 to 150 Hz) and pulse width (50 to 300 microseconds); this listing does not restate those figures, and we have not confirmed the rechargeable model shares them.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Spec, listing-statedAUVON 20-modeAVCOO 30-modeTENS 7000 rechargeable
Channels2, independent2Not stated in the listing
Programs20 modes30 modes, TENS and EMSNot stated in the listing
IntensityLevels, count not stated30 levelsUp to 100 mA
Frequency / pulse widthNot statedNot statedNot stated (older model’s manual: 2–150 Hz, 50–300 µs)
PowerBuilt-in lithium-ionBuilt-in lithium-ion, up to 30 hBuilt-in rechargeable
Pads in the box4 x 2 in, 4 x 2 x 4 in12 in three sizes4
Pad life claimUp to 45 usesMore than 50 usesNot stated

Every cell is what the Amazon listing states as of 15 October 2026, not a measurement. “Not stated” means the listing does not say, not that the feature is missing.

What to look for in a TENS unit for home use

Channels. One channel drives one pair of pads. Two channels drive two pairs, useful for a back, where pads often go either side of the spine. Independent channel controls matter more than the number of modes.

Pulse frequency and pulse width. These are the parameters TENS research varies: conventional TENS is high frequency at low intensity, acupuncture-like TENS low frequency at a stronger intensity. A unit that lets you set Hz and microseconds lets you follow a physical therapist’s settings. Named presets (“kneading”, “tapping”) make you guess, because few listings publish the parameters behind them.

Intensity steps. More steps is a convenience, not a strength figure. What matters is a lowest level below sensation and small steps.

Pad size. Pads should fit the area without wrapping onto a joint or touching each other: 2 x 4 inches for a lower back, 1 x 2 inches for a wrist.

Rechargeable or AAA/9-volt, and the pad bill. All three picks are rechargeable. The cost that does not show on the box is pads: at one session a day on two channels, a set rated for 45 uses lasts about six weeks, so a year of daily use is eight or nine pad sets. Look up the price of the replacement pads before you choose the unit, and buy pads that use the same connector (pin or snap) as your lead wires.

Does a TENS unit work for back pain?

Probably a little while it is running, and not reliably beyond that. Here is what the systematic reviews say, with their designs:

  • Cochrane, 2008 (Khadilkar and colleagues): four placebo-controlled RCTs, 585 people with chronic low back pain. Conflicting evidence on pain intensity; consistent evidence from two trials (410 people) of no improvement in back-specific function. The authors concluded the evidence did not support routine use.
  • NICE guideline NG59 (UK, 2016): recommendation 1.2.11 says not to offer TENS for managing low back pain with or without sciatica.
  • Cochrane overview, 2019 (Gibson and colleagues): pooled eight Cochrane reviews, 51 TENS trials, 2,895 people with chronic pain of several kinds, and could not conclude with confidence whether TENS helped.
  • Cochrane, 2015 (Johnson and colleagues), acute pain: 19 RCTs; tentative evidence that TENS reduces acute pain more than placebo TENS, with small samples and weak blinding making the conclusion provisional.
  • BMJ Open, 2022 (Johnson and colleagues): a meta-analysis of 381 RCTs, 24,532 people, across acute and chronic pain. Pain intensity was lower during or immediately after TENS than with placebo (91 trials, 4,841 people), rated moderate certainty, with adverse events poorly reported but generally mild.

Read together: the best evidence is for relief during and shortly after a session. That is a reasonable thing to buy, if it is what you think you are buying. It is not a treatment for the cause of back pain, and NICE does not recommend it for that.

What FDA clearance on a TENS unit means

Over-the-counter TENS units are cleared, not approved. A 510(k) clearance finds a device substantially equivalent to one already legally on the market; the evidence can be bench testing rather than a clinical trial. Cleared OTC TENS units usually carry an indication along the lines of temporary relief of sore and aching muscles from exercise or normal household and work activities. That is narrower than “sciatica”, “carpal tunnel” or “chronic pain”, all of which appear on these listings.

What the three listings claim:

  • AUVON: the brand’s comparison chart on the listing ticks “510K” for its devices and pads. The model number on this listing is JT8012B. The FDA clearance we found for its manufacturer, K250360, names models JT8012C, JT8016, JT9020E and JT9026. We could not match this exact model to a K-number, so treat the claim as the listing’s.
  • AVCOO: the listing says its pads are “certificated by CE, RoHS, and FDA”. That is not FDA terminology, and it says nothing about the unit.
  • TENS 7000 rechargeable: the listing makes no FDA claim either way.

The FDA’s public 510(k) database is searchable by company and device name; search the model number on the unit’s label, not the listing title.

TENS unit placement: the general rules

Pads go around the painful area, not on its most tender point, and current should run through the muscle you are treating, never across your body. The general rules:

  1. Around, not over. Place the pair of pads so the sore area sits between or beside them, with at least the spacing your manual specifies, and never touching.
  2. Never across the chest. Do not place pads so current runs across the chest or front to back through it.
  3. Never the front or sides of the neck. The carotid sinus sits there, and stimulating it can drop heart rate and blood pressure.
  4. Never on the head, near the eyes or in the mouth.
  5. Never on broken, irritated or numb skin. You cannot judge intensity on skin you cannot feel, which is also why one of these listings warns off people with diabetic peripheral neuropathy.
  6. Not over the abdomen or lower back in pregnancy. The listings go further and say not to use the unit at all during pregnancy; TENS in labour is something to arrange with your midwife or obstetrician, not improvise.

For your specific condition, ask a physical therapist to mark where the pads go the first time. A listing’s diagram cannot answer that for your body.

How to use a TENS unit

  1. Clean and dry the skin; lotion stops pads sticking.
  2. Connect the pads to the lead wires before you turn the unit on, and place them with the unit off.
  3. Turn on, choose the program, and raise intensity one step at a time until you feel a strong but comfortable tingle. If the muscle twitches hard on a TENS program, back off.
  4. Run the session on the timer. None of the three listings states a session length; the older TENS 7000’s manual sets its timer from 5 to 60 minutes, which is a device range, not a dose. Your manual, or your physical therapist, sets the dose.
  5. Turn the unit off before removing pads. Check the skin; return pads to their plastic film to keep the gel tacky.

Standard OTC TENS labelling also says not to use the unit while driving or operating machinery, while asleep, or in the bath or shower.

TENS vs EMS: which do you need?

TENS stimulates sensory nerves and is set to produce a tingle. EMS, electrical muscle stimulation, is set to make the muscle contract, with stronger, usually wider pulses. Many home units, including the AVCOO above, do both from the same pads; the difference is the program, not the hardware.

For pain, TENS is the mode the evidence above is about. EMS is marketed for “muscle recovery” and strength, a different claim with different evidence. For post-workout soreness, compare a massage gun first, which needs no pads. A PEMF mat is a different technology again, a magnetic field rather than a current, with its own separate evidence.

What we have not measured

We have not put any of these three units on a bench. Every figure on this page — channels, modes, intensity levels, the 100 mA, battery hours and pad-life claims — is what the Amazon listing or the manufacturer states, and each sentence says which. The test we would run: each unit’s output across a 500-ohm resistor (the load the TENS 7000 manual quotes its output into), read on an oscilloscope, to check actual frequency, pulse width and peak current at the lowest, middle and highest settings of a named program.

Then battery runtime at a fixed mid setting on both channels until shutdown, and pad adhesion counted in sessions until a pad will not stay on a forearm.

One unit of each, so n=1: a result describes our unit, not every unit with that ASIN. Our how we test page says the same about every figure on the site.

What we would buy

For a first unit: the AUVON 20-mode, for its independent channels and two pad sizes.

For small joints and travel: the AVCOO 30-mode, for the pad sizes rather than the mode count.

If you want a brand physical therapists already recognise and an Amazon-sold unit: the TENS 7000 rechargeable.

Whichever you pick, buy it knowing what it is: a device that may take the edge off pain while it runs, with a pad habit attached. The rest of our recovery tools are graded the same way.

More Recovery Tools guides How we test

Questions buyers actually ask

Does a TENS unit work for back pain?

For pain while the current is on, probably a little; for lasting change in chronic low back pain, the trials conflict. A 2008 Cochrane review of four placebo-controlled RCTs (585 people) found conflicting evidence on pain and no improvement in back-specific function, and the UK's NICE guideline NG59 says not to offer TENS for low back pain. A 2022 meta-analysis of 381 RCTs across many pain types found pain lower during or immediately after TENS than with sham, at moderate certainty.

Where should TENS pads be placed?

Around the painful area rather than directly on its most tender point, with the pads apart from each other by at least the spacing your manual specifies. Never across the chest, on the front or sides of the neck, on the head or near the eyes, on broken or numb skin, or over the abdomen or lower back in pregnancy. For a specific placement for your condition, ask a physical therapist or physician.

How long should you use a TENS unit at a time?

As long as your manual or your physical therapist says, on the built-in timer. None of the three listings on this page states a session length; the older TENS 7000 manual sets its timer from 5 to 60 minutes, which is a device range, not a recommendation. Check the skin under the pads after each session. Redness that does not fade, itching or a burn-like mark means stop and replace the pads, and do not use the unit while asleep, driving or in water.

What is the difference between TENS and EMS?

TENS is set to stimulate sensory nerves and is meant to produce a tingle without a strong muscle contraction; EMS is set to make muscles contract. Many home units do both, and the difference is mostly the program: intensity, pulse width and frequency. For pain, TENS is the setting the evidence is about.

Is a TENS unit FDA approved?

Over-the-counter TENS units are not approved; they are cleared through the FDA's 510(k) process, which finds a device substantially equivalent to one already legally on the market. Cleared OTC units typically carry an indication for temporary relief of sore and aching muscles from exercise or household and work activities, which is narrower than most listings imply.

Size it, wire it, price it — before you order anything.

A spreadsheet that sizes your heater in kW, prices the 240V circuit, calculates chiller horsepower for your ambient temperature, and totals the installed cost. One email, no sequence.

  • Heater kW calculator
  • Circuit & permit costs
  • Chiller sizing
  • Installed-cost total

No spam, no drip sequence. Unsubscribe in one click.

Prices and specifications change constantly in this category. We re-verify every figure on this page against manufacturer sources on a rolling basis; the update date above is when that last happened. Spot something stale? Tell us.