Grounding mat: what the physics proves, what the studies do not, and the outlet check that comes first

A grounding mat is a conductive carbon sheet wired through a resistor to the ground pin of a wall outlet. It does one measurable thing, which says nothing about health, and the health research behind it is small, much of it by researchers who declare ties to the company that sponsors it. It is also only as safe as the outlet it plugs into.

Independent and reader-supported. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are never sold, and every figure says where it came from. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.Full disclosure

Short answer

A grounding mat is a conductive carbon sheet wired, usually through a 100,000-ohm resistor, to a wall outlet’s ground pin. It holds your body at the building’s ground potential, measurably cutting the 60 Hz voltage nearby wiring induces on you. Health benefits are unproven: the trials are small pilots, the main reviews by researchers with declared industry ties.

A grounding mat is sold as a way to reconnect with the earth from your desk or bed. Physically, it is a piece of wire. One end touches your skin, the other goes to your house’s grounding system, and a resistor in between decides how much current can flow if something goes wrong.

That framing explains the one effect anyone can measure, why it is not a health benefit, and why the outlet matters more than the mat. This page sits in our recovery tools section, next to the PEMF mat, which looks similar and is a different device entirely.

What is a grounding mat?

A sheet with a conductive layer made from carbon blended into a synthetic leather or polyurethane top; both on this page are 24 by 16 inches, listing-stated. A snap or socket on the mat takes a cord, and by design the cord connects only to the ground pin of a three-prong outlet, never to the live circuit. Both listings say the cord includes a 100K ohm resistor.

Rest bare hands, forearms or feet on it and your body is electrically joined to the ground conductor in your walls. In a US home that conductor runs back to the service panel, where it is bonded to a grounding electrode, usually a rod in the soil or a metal water pipe. That is the whole sense in which a mat “connects you to the earth”: through your house wiring.

It is not a heating pad (there is no power supply), not a PEMF mat, which drives current through coils to make a pulsing magnetic field, and not a TENS unit, which pushes current through electrodes on purpose. The industry’s own word for it is “earthing”, trademarked by the company that popularized it; the mats sold under dozens of brand names are the same idea.

What a grounding mat actually does

Your body sits in the electric field of every powered cord and wall circuit near it, and an ungrounded body picks up a small alternating voltage from that field, the way a long wire would. Ground the body and that induced voltage collapses toward zero.

The measurement usually cited is a 2005 paper by Roger Applewhite, an electrical engineer who was both author and sole subject, in European Biology and Bioelectromagnetics. As summarized in the 2012 earthing review by Chevalier and colleagues, a grounded patch or bed pad cut the 60 Hz voltage induced on his body by a factor of about 70 on average, measured at three points on the torso and thigh.

A more sober measurement comes from Chamberlin and colleagues (Journal of Chiropractic Medicine, 2014), who built low-noise instruments to record the current between a grounded person and the earth, about 40 times under varied conditions. The currents were in nanoamperes, billionths of an amp, and the only information the authors found in them related to the subject moving.

All of that is measurable, and none of it, on its own, says anything about inflammation, sleep, pain or blood. Those are biological claims, and they need biological trials.

Do grounding mats work? The evidence, graded

They do the electrical thing. Whether that changes anything that matters to you is unproven, because of the shape of the research rather than any single bad study.

StudyDesignPeopleWhat it reportedTies the paper declares
Ghaly and Teplitz, J Altern Complement Med, 2004Pilot, before and after, no control group12 with sleep, pain and stress complaintsLower night-time cortisol at week 6 of sleeping on a grounded pad; self-reported sleep, pain and stress improvedDisclosure not seen by us
Brown, Chevalier and Hill, J Altern Complement Med, 2010Pilot after calf-soreness exercise; control systems not connected to earth8 (4 vs 4)Pain scores and some blood markers differed by 10% or more, flagged for a larger studyDisclosure not seen by us
Chevalier, Sinatra, Oschman and others, J Environ Public Health, 2012Narrative reviewn/aPresents earthing’s potential as a modality of “significant clinical importance”Chevalier, Sinatra, Oschman: contractors for, and small shareholders in, the company sponsoring earthing research
Chevalier, Sinatra, Oschman and Delany, J Altern Complement Med, 2013One two-hour session, blood sampled before and after; no control group10 healthy adultsRed blood cell surface charge rose and clumping fell, on a microscope slideSame three authors, same disclosure
Oschman, Chevalier and Brown, J Inflamm Res, 2015Narrative review and hypothesesn/aGrounding “reduces pain” and alters immune cell counts after muscle injuryChevalier, Oschman: contractors and small shareholders; Brown: contractor. Thanks the company’s Clint Ober for “continuous support”
Chevalier and others, Explore, 2019Randomized stepped-wedge, grounded vs ungrounded weeks16 massage therapistsLess self-reported pain, fatigue and low mood while groundedDisclosure not seen by us
Müller and others (University of Salzburg), Frontiers in Physiology, 2019Randomized, triple-blind, sham-grounded sleeping sheets for 10 days after hard downhill running22 (12 vs 10)No difference in muscle soreness. Smaller drop in jump height (8% vs 14%) and smaller rise in creatine kinase; detailed blood work in 4 people onlyNone declared. Participants kept the equipment

What that adds up to:

  • Design. Only two studies had a parallel sham group, and one had four people per arm. Before-and-after studies cannot separate the mat from time, expectation or regression to the mean, and self-reported sleep and pain are the outcomes most open to expectation.
  • Independence. The reviews that sum up the field are written by the researchers who ran most of the primary studies, and they declare contractor and shareholder ties to its sponsor. That does not make them wrong; it means the field lacks the independent replication that would settle it.
  • The best independent trial is mixed. The Salzburg trial is the most careful study we found, and it saw no difference in how sore people felt, the outcome a buyer cares about. Twenty-two people is still a pilot.

Grounding mat benefits, then. Better sleep, less pain and inflammation, lower stress, thinner blood and faster recovery each have at least one small study pointing that way. None has a large, independent, sham-controlled trial behind it. The honest grade is unproven: not shown to work, not shown to do nothing. Our red light therapy evidence page grades a field the same way, and red light, with a guideline-backed use, sits well ahead of grounding on that scale.

Is a grounding mat safe? Check the outlet first

Being wrong costs the most here, so the rules come first.

  1. Test the outlet before first use. A plug-in receptacle tester, the inexpensive three-light cube sold at any hardware store, shows the common faults: open ground, hot and neutral reversed, hot and ground reversed, open neutral. Neither listing on this page includes one. Anything other than “correct” means do not plug in; call a licensed electrician.
  2. Never use a cord without the resistor, and never bypass it. It is the safety device in the system.
  3. No bathrooms, no wet skin, no damaged cord. Replace a cord with cracked insulation or a loose connector.
  4. Unplug during thunderstorms. The best-known earthing maker suggests the same.
  5. No adapters. Straight into a three-prong outlet, never into a two-prong one through an adapter.

The mat trusts the ground pin, and three faults change what that pin is:

  • Open ground. No ground wire behind the outlet, common in older homes where three-prong outlets replaced two-prong ones. The mat connects you to nothing. Harmless, and useless.
  • Hot and ground reversed. The ground pin is live. By Ohm’s law, 120 volts across 100,000 ohms allows at most about 1.2 milliamps, our arithmetic, before counting the body’s own resistance. OSHA’s electrical safety training material puts about 1 mA at the threshold of feeling a tingle and 6 to 16 mA in the range where people lose muscle control and cannot let go. That margin is why the resistor exists. Without it, current is limited only by your skin.
  • A “bootleg” ground. The ground has been jumpered to the neutral at the outlet instead of wired back to the panel. Electrician Mike Sokol showed in EC&M (2013) that the worst version, with polarity also reversed, passes any three-light tester while putting appliance grounds on the hot wire, and a downstream GFCI does not catch it.

Implants and medication. With a pacemaker, implanted defibrillator or other implanted electronics, ask the clinic that manages the device first; we found no study of grounding in people with them. On warfarin, note that earthing’s own advocates, in the 2012 review and the 2013 blood study, say clotting should be monitored when starting, on anecdotal reports of raised INR. That is weak evidence either way, so tell your anticoagulation clinic rather than ignore it. The 2013 study excluded pregnancy, which is a reason to ask, not a known risk.

The grounding rod alternative, and storms

Some kits swap the outlet for a metal rod pushed into the soil outside, with a cord through a window. The concern is what electricians call bonding. A building’s grounding system ties the outlet grounds, metal plumbing and appliance cases together so they sit at the same potential. A separate rod outside is not tied in. Normally the difference is tiny; during a nearby lightning strike or a utility fault, the soil around the rod and the house ground can briefly sit at very different voltages, and a person touching both is the bridge.

The best-known maker’s help pages say its 100k ohm resistor would melt before lightning reached you, point to National Weather Service lightning guidance, and suggest disconnecting during storms. We would go further: if you use a rod, disconnect at the first thunder, and never touch anything plugged into the house while connected to it. We found no US standard or regulator that addresses earthing rods, so this is reasoning from how grounding systems are designed, not a rule we can cite.

What is the best grounding mat?

One with a resistor in the cord, a surface you can keep clean, and a seller who says how it is built. Two listings fit. Neither has a published test of anything beyond its own description. Amazon files both under Industrial & Scientific, in a subcategory named for the electrosurgery grounding pads used in operating rooms. They are not those.

Our pick · Desk and floor Amazon

Hooga grounding mat, 24 x 16 in

A conductive carbon mat with a carbon-infused vegan leather top and a non-slip rubber backing, listing-stated. The listing says every cord includes a 100K ohm safety resistor, that it plugs into any standard three-prong grounded outlet, and that the surface is waterproof and wipes clean. In the box, per the listing: the mat, a 15-ft cord and a silver connector pin, with a one-year warranty and a 60-day money-back guarantee. It makes the more restrained case of the two, which is why it is first.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Our pick · Gift-boxed alternative Amazon

GAYA grounding mat, 24 x 16 in

A three-layer mat, listing-stated: polyurethane top, conductive carbon center, non-slip base, with a 15-ft cord and a 100K ohm resistor. The listing says it needs no adapters in the US or Canada, and it comes gift-packaged. It also promises deeper sleep, which we do not repeat, and tells buyers that feeling nothing is normal because grounding works subtly over time, at 30 minutes or more daily. That sets up an expectation no experience can contradict: notice something and it worked, notice nothing and it is still working.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Spec, listing-statedHooga grounding matGAYA grounding mat
Size24 x 16 in24 x 16 in
SurfaceCarbon-infused vegan leather, rubber backingPU top, carbon center, non-slip base
Resistor in cord100K ohm100K ohm
Cord15 ft, plus silver connector pin15 ft
OutletStandard three-prong groundedGrounded, no adapters for US/Canada
CareWaterproof, wipe cleanNot stated
Warranty1 year; 60-day money-backNot stated
Outlet tester includedNoNo

Every cell is what the Amazon listing states as of 16 October 2026, not a measurement.

What we have not measured

We have not had either mat on a bench. Every product figure here is listing-stated, and the 70-fold body voltage drop is one engineer’s measurement on himself. We cannot tell you either mat’s surface resistance, whether its resistor is what the listing says, or what it does to body voltage in a typical room.

The tests we would run, on one unit of each:

  1. The outlet. A three-light receptacle tester on the test outlet before anything else is plugged in.
  2. The cord. A multimeter on resistance from the mat end of the cord to the plug’s ground pin, against the listing’s 100K ohm, before and after flexing the cord.
  3. The surface. Resistance across the mat between probes at set distances, and from surface to snap, new and after a month of wiping, to see whether the carbon layer keeps conducting.
  4. Body voltage. A high-impedance multimeter on AC volts, referenced to a known ground, with one person at a desk beside a lamp cord and a laptop charger, mat unplugged and then plugged in, repeated at a bed. We expect a large drop. It demonstrates the physics and says nothing about health.

One unit, one room, one person, so n=1: a result describes our unit and our wiring, not every mat sold under that listing. Our how we test page says the same about every figure on the site.

What we would buy

If you want to try grounding: the Hooga, for its plain description and wipe-clean surface, with a three-light receptacle tester bought at the same time and used before the mat is plugged in. The GAYA, with the same tester, if it is a gift and the box matters.

Buy it as an experiment, not a treatment. Skip the outdoor rod, unplug during storms, and ask first if you have an implanted device or take warfarin. The rest of our recovery tools are graded the same way.

More Recovery Tools guides How we test

Questions buyers actually ask

What is a grounding mat?

A sheet of carbon-infused, electrically conductive material with a cord that plugs into the ground pin of a three-prong wall outlet, usually through a 100,000-ohm resistor built into the cord. Touching it with bare skin connects your body to the building's electrical ground. It has no power supply, no heating element and no coils; nothing switches on.

Do grounding mats work?

At the one thing physics predicts, yes: a grounded body carries far less of the 60 Hz voltage that nearby wiring induces on it, and a meter shows the drop immediately. Whether that does anything for health is unproven. The human studies are small pilots, and the reviews summing them up are written by researchers who declare they are contractors for and shareholders in the company sponsoring earthing research. The one independent triple-blind sham-controlled trial we found (22 people) saw no difference in muscle soreness.

Are grounding mats safe?

On a correctly wired outlet, with the resistor in the cord intact and dry conditions, the electrical risk is low. The risk is the outlet. If the ground is missing the mat does nothing; if the outlet is miswired so the ground pin is live, the resistor is all that stands between you and line voltage. Test the outlet with a plug-in receptacle tester first, never use a cord without a resistor, keep it out of bathrooms and wet areas, and unplug it during thunderstorms.

Can I use a grounding mat with a pacemaker?

Ask the clinic that manages your device first. We found no study of grounding mats in people with pacemakers, defibrillators or other implanted electronics. A working mat passes no current of its own, but it does connect you to your home's wiring, which is exactly the part of the system that can be faulty. The same goes for anyone on warfarin: earthing's own advocates say clotting should be monitored when starting, on anecdotal reports.

How long should you use a grounding mat?

There is no evidence-based dose. The studies used anything from a single two-hour session to eight weeks of sleeping grounded, and none compared durations. The 30-minutes-a-day figure on one listing is a marketing instruction, not a finding. If you use one, the safety rules matter more than the minutes: tested outlet, dry skin, intact cord.

Size it, wire it, price it — before you order anything.

A spreadsheet that sizes your heater in kW, prices the 240V circuit, calculates chiller horsepower for your ambient temperature, and totals the installed cost. One email, no sequence.

  • Heater kW calculator
  • Circuit & permit costs
  • Chiller sizing
  • Installed-cost total

No spam, no drip sequence. Unsubscribe in one click.

Prices and specifications change constantly in this category. We re-verify every figure on this page against manufacturer sources on a rolling basis; the update date above is when that last happened. Spot something stale? Tell us.