Red light therapy bed: what a session delivers, and what the trials show

A red light therapy bed puts LEDs above and below your whole body for 10 to 20 minutes. The published bed trials report a lower irradiance than a good panel at six inches, one sham-controlled fibromyalgia trial is positive, and most recovery trials found nothing. Here is what a bed is, what to ask the clinic, and the safety points that change in an enclosed bed.

Independent and reader-supported. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are never sold, and every figure says where it came from. Full disclosure

Short answer

A red light therapy bed is a whole-body LED enclosure, typically 630 to 660nm red plus 810 to 850nm near-infrared, used lying down for 10 to 20 minutes. NovoTHOR bed trials report 24 to 28 mW/cm², calculated, below a strong panel at six inches. One sham-controlled fibromyalgia trial is positive; most athlete recovery trials found no effect.

A red light bed is the clinic version of a red light panel: instead of standing in front of one flat array, you lie between two, one under your back and one over your front, for a timed session. You find them in recovery studios, physical therapy clinics, med spas, pro team facilities and some gyms. This page covers what is inside one, the dose it delivers compared with a panel, what the whole-body trials found, and what to ask before you book. It has no product picks; the red light pillar has a guide per device type.

What is a red light therapy bed?

A clamshell or tunnel lined with thousands of LEDs. You lie on clear acrylic over the bottom array, the top array closes over you, and fans carry the heat away while an operator-set timer runs. Here is what three makers publish, read on 17 October 2026. Every cell is manufacturer-stated or from the FDA record, not a measurement.

BedWavelengthsOutput figure publishedRegulatory wording
NovoTHOR and NovoTHOR XL660nm red, 850nm near-infrared; switchable to red onlyNo irradiance; power draw 2,400 W and 2,700 WA medical device built to IEC 62471 (photobiological safety) and IEC 60601-2-57
TheraLight 360633, 810, 850 and 940nm, each controlled separately“Total Dose In 10 Min 99 J/cm2”, no distance, position or instrument“FDA Registered”
LightStim Professional LED BedNot stated in the FDA summary18,240 LEDs, 30-minute automatic shut-off510(k) K153399, 2016, cleared as an infrared lamp for topical heating

The wavelengths match the rest of the field: red around 630 to 660nm and near-infrared around 810 to 850nm, where most of the evidence sits. The dosing guide explains each band, and why extra wavelengths are not a reason to pay more.

Red light bed vs panel at home: the dose question

Dose is irradiance times time: J/cm² = mW/cm² × seconds ÷ 1000, and most published protocols aim at 10 to 60 J/cm². A bed’s selling point is not a higher dose but coverage: front and back of the whole body at once.

None of the bed makers above publishes an irradiance at a stated distance. Two NovoTHOR trials report one, in different ways; a third, Ghigiarelli’s, gives only total power.

Device and sourceIrradiance figureHow it was obtained20-minute dose
Mito Red MitoPRO 750X panel at 6 in, manufacturer-statedOver 70 mW/cm²Spectroradiometer, per Mito RedAbout 84 J/cm², by the formula
NovoTHOR XL, fibromyalgia trial (Navarro-Ledesma et al., Ther Adv Chronic Dis, 2022, protocol)28 mW/cm², red and near-infrared combined967 W emitted ÷ 34,544 cm² of emitting surface: an average at the lens, not a reading at skinPaper states 25.2 J/cm²; the formula gives 33.6
NovoTHOR, college soccer team (Rentz et al., Sports, 2022)12 mW/cm² red plus 12 near-infrared, “at patient skin”Method not stated14.4 J/cm² per band, as stated
TheraLight 360, manufacturer-statedNone published; 99 J/cm² in 10 minutes implies a 165 mW/cm² averageOur arithmetic on the maker’s figure, whose conditions are not statedAbout 198 J/cm², if that figure holds

Three things follow. The bed most trials used delivers, on its own published numbers, well under half the irradiance of a strong panel at six inches, and makes up for it with 20 minutes over the whole body. None of these bed figures is a spectroradiometer reading at skin, the only kind our panel guide treats as usable; Mito Red’s panel reads over 160 mW/cm² on a consumer meter and over 70 on a spectroradiometer, so the instrument matters about twofold. And the one maker whose figure implies a high irradiance does not say where on the bed it applies; at its recommended 10 to 20 minutes, the implied dose runs past the top of the 10 to 60 J/cm² band, which in a field with a biphasic dose response is not a bonus.

A bed is not uniform either. Your back lies almost on the bottom array while your front sits inches under the canopy, so the two sides very likely get different doses. No maker we checked publishes a map across the bed.

So, bed or panel? For one area, a knee, a shoulder, the face, a panel at six inches gives a known dose you can repeat at home. For the whole body in one go, a bed does in 20 minutes what a panel needs several positions for, with a less documented dose. Session prices vary widely by clinic and city, and a course can add up to the price of a panel, so ask for the per-session price and package terms first. The panel guide has dated prices for the at-home alternative.

Red light bed benefits: what the evidence covers

Is red light therapy legit? grades the whole field condition by condition, and most of that evidence comes from clinic lasers on marked points, not beds. This section covers only whole-body studies. When a clinic quotes a benefit, ask whether it was shown in a bed or borrowed from a laser trial.

StudyDesignWhoBed protocol, as reportedWhat it found
Navarro-Ledesma et al., Pain Ther, 2023Randomized, triple-blinded, sham-controlled42 adults with fibromyalgiaNovoTHOR, 20 min, 3 times a week, 4 weeksLess pain, better quality of life than sham at 4 weeks and 2 weeks after
Navarro-Ledesma et al., Front Neurosci, 2024Same trial, 6-month follow-upSameSamePain difference significant at several follow-ups, including 6 months
Fitzmaurice et al., Behav Sci, 2023Single-arm feasibility, no control21 with fibromyalgia, 19 completedNovoTHOR, 18 sessions over about 6 weeksPositive changes; supports a full trial
Ghigiarelli et al., Front Sports Act Living, 2020Randomized crossover12 trained menNovoTHOR, 15 min before and after resistance trainingNo significant effect on creatine kinase or salivary IL-6
Zagatto et al., Photobiomodul Photomed Laser Surg, 2020Randomized, double-blinded, placebo13 water polo playersFull-body device after each match, 5 min, 6.9 J/cm² statedNo faster recovery on inflammation, muscle damage (one marker aside), hormones, HRV or strength
Forsey et al., Lasers Med Sci, 2023Single-blind randomized crossover48 active adults20 min before sprint cyclingNo effect on power or lactate; higher HRV next morning; perceived recovery no different
Álvarez-Martínez and Borden, Lasers Med Sci, 2025Systematic review5 studies, 105 active peopleVariousNo benefit on fatigue markers or performance; two studies reported better sleep

Fibromyalgia: one positive trial, from the maker’s circle

The strongest bed result is well built: random allocation, a sham mode that participants, operator and observers could not tell apart, goggles that hid which mode was running, and heating elements that ran in sham mode too, so warmth alone should not explain the difference. Pain and quality of life improved more with the real light. Two of its four authors, James Carroll and Patricia Burton, were employed by THOR Photomedicine, the NovoTHOR’s maker, and Carroll owns it, as the trial’s papers declare; the Birmingham feasibility study’s protocol declares in-kind support from THOR. One trial of 42 people, no independent replication yet: a reason for a larger trial, not a settled treatment.

Exercise recovery: mostly nothing

Local light on marked muscle points before exercise has a positive meta-analysis behind it, graded moderate on our evidence page. Whole-body sessions did not reproduce it: no change in muscle damage markers after resistance training, no faster recovery across a water polo tournament, no extra sprint power. Forsey’s paper is titled as showing improved recovery, but that rests on next-morning heart rate variability; the riders’ own recovery ratings did not differ. The 2025 review’s summary is fair: no evidence of benefit for recovery or performance yet.

Sleep and the rest: not established

Sleep points both ways. The 2025 review found two studies reporting better sleep, while Rentz’s season-long observation of a college soccer team found athletes slept about 40 minutes less on nights after a session. Neither is a controlled sleep trial. Beyond that are small uncontrolled pilots, such as a seven-per-group long COVID brain fog study (Bowen and Arany, J Biophotonics, 2023) and a 40-person pain survey (Scoz et al., Photobiomodul Photomed Laser Surg, 2026) whose authors say their design precludes efficacy conclusions. We found no whole-body trial behind weight loss, detox, hormone or longevity claims.

Are red light beds safe?

In the trials, beds were well tolerated, with few and mild side effects reported, under supervision at set protocols. What changes from a panel is that light comes from every direction, the space is enclosed, and the surface is shared.

  • Eyes. Near-infrared at 810 to 850nm is invisible, so blink and pupil reflexes ignore it, and in a bed it arrives from above, below and off reflective panels. Wear sealed goggles rated for the bed’s wavelengths and keep your eyes closed. The fibromyalgia trial issued goggles that block the bed’s light; if a provider offers none, do not book. Our glasses guide explains optical density, and why we will never tell you eye protection is unnecessary.
  • Heat. In the LightStim bed’s FDA submission, skin temperature during a 30-minute test ran 104 to about 106°F (40 to 41.3°C) on an infrared thermometer; that bed was cleared as a heating device. Ghigiarelli’s team added a fan because the treatment room got uncomfortably hot. Skin can burn at about 111°F (44°C) given hours of contact (Moritz and Henriques, Am J Pathol, 1947). Never fall asleep in a bed; stop if anything feels hot. Numbness from neuropathy or poor circulation removes that warning, so ask your clinician first.
  • Enclosure. Twenty minutes in a closed pod is hard for some people; the Birmingham trial excluded anyone unable to lie flat that long, claustrophobia included. Ask how the lid opens and whether you can stop the session yourself.
  • Photosensitising medication. Photodynamic therapy drugs such as aminolevulinic acid and verteporfin are made to be activated by red light, and some antibiotics, retinoids and St John’s wort raise light sensitivity. Ask the pharmacist who dispensed yours.
  • Pregnancy. We found no trial data. THOR’s own site says pregnant women are not to be treated unless a physician prescribes it, and a bed adds heat. Ask your obstetrician.
  • Cancer. Whether light over a known or possible tumour affects it is unknown; the MASCC/ISOO guideline urges caution, and a whole-body session is light over everything. THOR lists cancer as a contraindication unless a physician prescribes treatment. One mouse study of full-body 670nm light found no effect on skin tumour growth, which is not reassurance for a person. Ask your oncologist.
  • Skin conditions. With melasma, lupus, porphyria or another light-sensitive condition, ask your specialist first. Duteil and colleagues found 630nm red did not induce pigmentation where blue-violet light did, but no bed has been tested on your condition.
  • Hygiene. You lie, often in underwear, where the last client lay. Ask how the bed is cleaned between clients and with what. Tanning-bed makers must supply validated cleaning instructions under the federal sunlamp rule; we know of no equivalent rule written for LED red light beds, so the clinic’s routine is what you rely on.

Red light bed vs tanning bed: check for UV

A bed with only red and near-infrared LEDs emits no ultraviolet. It will not tan you, will not sunburn you, and will not make vitamin D, which skin makes from UVB. That is worth checking rather than assuming, because tanning salons and gyms sell beds with red light in them too.

Some are hybrids. Ergoline’s hybrid tanning models, including a gym-chain-branded version, are cleared by the FDA as sunlamp products, the UV tanning category; one 510(k) summary lists 28 UV lamps and 14 lamps described as a mix of UV and red light, for cosmetic tanning by adults 18 and over. A salon “collagen” bed may be red only, or a tanning bed with red lamps added; the name will not tell you which.

Two checks settle it. Ask whether the unit emits any UV. And look for the label: every US sunlamp product must carry the statement “This sunlamp product should not be used on persons under the age of 18 years.” If it is there, the bed emits UV, and the risks of tanning apply. Tanning goggles are rated for UV, not near-infrared, so a red light bed needs goggles rated for its own wavelengths.

Medical grade red light therapy: what the phrase means

“Medical grade” is marketing, not a regulatory term. The FDA sorts devices into three classes and clears or approves each for a stated use; it has no category called medical grade. What to check instead:

  • A 510(k) number, and its indication. Clearance is per indication. The LightStim bed is cleared for topical heating to temporarily relieve minor muscle and joint pain and stiffness, minor arthritis pain or muscle spasm, increase local circulation and relax muscles, on the strength of skin temperature testing, not a photobiomodulation trial. It is not a clearance for skin, sleep or weight. Look up any K-number in the FDA’s 510(k) database.
  • “FDA registered” is not “FDA cleared.” Registration lists a company and its devices with the FDA, and federal rules say it “does not in any way denote approval” (21 CFR 807.39).
  • No K-number is not automatically a red flag. Since 2019, infrared therapeutic heating lamps are exempt from 510(k) notification, within limits (21 CFR 890.5500), so a bed can be sold legally without one. It does mean no outside reviewer looked at it.
  • Ask for the IEC 62471 risk group. That standard assesses eye and skin hazard; NovoTHOR’s site says the bed is built to it.

The mask guide walks through reading an FDA record.

How often and how long

Follow the bed’s protocol, and ask what dose it delivers. For reference: sessions were 15 to 20 minutes in the NovoTHOR trials, and Ghigiarelli’s team gave the maker’s range as 8 to 20 minutes; TheraLight recommends 10 to 20. The positive fibromyalgia trial ran three sessions a week for four weeks; the feasibility study, 18 over about six weeks. We found no whole-body trial of daily sessions. The dose response is biphasic, so a longer or second session is not a stronger one, and a bed session plus a panel session on the same area the same day can add up past the top of the band.

Questions to ask before you book

  1. Which wavelengths, and can it run red only?
  2. What is the irradiance at the bed surface, and measured how? A spectroradiometer reading at stated points is the answer you want; a figure from wattage or a consumer meter is weaker.
  3. What dose does my session deliver? If they cannot say, you are buying minutes, not a dose.
  4. Does it emit any UV? Look for the sunlamp label.
  5. Which goggles do you provide, rated for what? Optical density at the bed’s wavelengths.
  6. How is the bed cleaned between clients?
  7. How hot does it get, and can I open it myself?
  8. Is it FDA cleared, and for what? Ask for the K-number.
  9. What does a session cost, and what are the package terms?

What we have not measured

We have not measured any red light bed. Every figure on this page is the manufacturer’s, the FDA record’s or a study’s own, and each sentence says which; the doses in the comparison table are the formula applied to those figures, not readings.

The measurement a bed is owed is the one owed across the pillar, adapted to its shape: a calibrated spectroradiometer, calibration date stated, at the acrylic you lie on and at front-of-body height under the canopy, at head, chest, hips, knees and feet, edges as well as centre. Each reading split into red and near-infrared, and repeated after 20 minutes of running, since LED output can drop as it heats. Add a thermocouple at skin level over a full session, and a reading at eye position with the lid closed, to set against IEC 62471. One bed of each model, n=1: a reading of that unit in that clinic, not every bed sold. We will not run a pain or recovery “trial” on one person and call it evidence; without a sham, a result cannot be told apart from expectation. How we test says the same about every figure on the site.

What we would do

With fibromyalgia or chronic pain and a clinic nearby, a bed is reasonable to raise with your clinician, with one positive sham-controlled trial behind it and modest expectations. For faster training recovery, the whole-body trials so far do not support it. For red light on one area, a panel at six inches gives a dose you can calculate; the panel guide ranks them on published irradiance. Whatever you book, wear the goggles and bring the nine questions. Before your first session, the red light sauna page is worth a look if the clinic pairs the bed with infrared heat.

More Red Light Therapy guides How we test

Questions buyers actually ask

Do red light therapy beds work?

For a few things, possibly; for most of what they are sold on, not shown. The best whole-body result is one sham-controlled trial of 42 people with fibromyalgia, run with co-authors from the bed's maker, that found less pain after 12 sessions. Trials in athletes mostly found no effect on muscle damage markers or performance, and a 2025 systematic review of five such studies reached the same conclusion.

Is a red light bed better than a red light panel?

It is faster for the whole body, not stronger. The bed trials we found report about 24 to 28 mW/cm² for the NovoTHOR bed, calculated rather than measured, while Mito Red publishes over 70 mW/cm² at six inches on a spectroradiometer for its 750X panel. A panel at six inches gives a higher dose to the area in front of it; a bed covers front and back at once.

Are red light therapy beds safe?

In the trials, side effects were few and mild. The practical risks are eye exposure to invisible near-infrared (wear the goggles the clinic provides), heat in an enclosed bed, photosensitising medication, and shared surfaces that need cleaning between clients. One bed maker lists pregnancy and cancer as contraindications unless a physician prescribes the treatment.

Do red light beds have UV like a tanning bed?

An LED bed that emits only red and near-infrared light produces no UV and will not tan you. Some tanning-salon beds sold as hybrid or collagen beds are FDA-classified sunlamp products whose lamps mix UV with red light. A US sunlamp product must carry a label saying it should not be used on people under 18, so that label tells you there is UV.

How often should you use a red light therapy bed?

The positive fibromyalgia trial used 20-minute sessions three times a week for four weeks; a feasibility study used 18 sessions over about six weeks. Bed makers recommend roughly 10 to 20 minutes per session. We found no trial of daily use, and the dose response in this field is biphasic, so more sessions are not automatically better.

What does medical grade red light therapy mean?

Nothing official. The FDA sorts devices into Class I, II and III and clears or approves them for stated uses; it has no category called medical grade. Ask for the device's 510(k) number and read the indication it was cleared for. Note that a statement that a company is FDA registered refers to registration, which federal rules say does not denote approval.

Size it, wire it, price it — before you order anything.

A spreadsheet that sizes your heater in kW, prices the 240V circuit, calculates chiller horsepower for your ambient temperature, and totals the installed cost. One email, no sequence.

  • Heater kW calculator
  • Circuit & permit costs
  • Chiller sizing
  • Installed-cost total

No spam, no drip sequence. Unsubscribe in one click.

Prices and specifications change constantly in this category. We re-verify every figure on this page against manufacturer sources on a rolling basis; the update date above is when that last happened. Spot something stale? Tell us.