Magnesium spray: the best magnesium oil sprays, compared on what you can check

Five magnesium sprays compared on the things a label can actually tell you: which salt, how much magnesium per spray, what else is in the bottle, how much it stings, and how big the bottle is. Plus how to use one, how to make your own, and why we do not rank them on absorption.

Independent and reader-supported. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are never sold, and every figure says where it came from. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.Full disclosure

Short answer

The best magnesium spray for most people is a plain magnesium chloride brine that states its dose, such as NOW Solutions: two ingredients and about 16.5 mg of magnesium per spray, manufacturer-stated. Whether any spray raises your body’s magnesium is unproven, so buy on what a label can show: salt, mg per spray, fragrance, sting and bottle size.

A magnesium spray is a bottle of salt water, and that is not an insult. Magnesium chloride dissolved in water near saturation is the whole product in the plainest bottles; the rest of the category is a different salt, an added ingredient, a fragrance or a gentler concentration.

What no bottle can tell you is how much gets through your skin, because nobody knows. Our evidence page goes through the studies and the arithmetic, and the absorption evidence is weak. So this page ranks sprays on what you can check before you buy, which is also what decides whether you will still be using the bottle in a month. It sits in our recovery tools section.

What is the best magnesium spray?

Five bottles, each the best answer to a different question:

  • Most people, plainest bottle: NOW Solutions Magnesium Topical Spray. Water and magnesium chloride, a stated dose, sold by Amazon.com.
  • Wants the original Zechstein oil in a lower concentration: Ancient Minerals Magnesium Oil Ultra with MSM.
  • Wants Epsom salt and a drugstore brand: Dr Teal’s Topical Magnesium Spray, fragrance-free.
  • Wants the highest stated dose per spray: Aromasong Extra Strength, 23 mg per spray.
  • Sensitive skin: ASUTRA’s Zechstein spray, sold as a “less sting, less itch” formula.
Our pick · Most people, plainest bottle Amazon

NOW Solutions Magnesium Topical Spray, 8 fl oz

Water and magnesium chloride, the ingredient list on NOW’s own page says, with no fragrance or dyes, the listing states. NOW is one of the few brands that publishes a dose: about 66 mg of elemental magnesium per four sprays, roughly 16.5 mg each, and directions of two to five sprays. It is sold by Amazon.com. The listing calls it “fast-absorbing”; that is a claim, not a finding.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Our pick · Zechstein oil, lower concentration Amazon

Ancient Minerals Magnesium Oil Ultra with MSM, 8 oz

Zechstein magnesium chloride blended with OptiMSM, an organic sulfur compound, in a water base, the listing states. Ancient Minerals’ own site gives 55 mg of elemental magnesium and 110 mg of OptiMSM per millilitre, or six sprays, which is about 9 mg of magnesium per spray. That is roughly half the magnesium concentration of the brand’s original oil (100 mg per millilitre), and so a gentler brine. Ancient Minerals says it has sold topical magnesium since 2007. Any suggestion that MSM helps magnesium into cells is the brand’s, not something we found shown.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Our pick · Epsom salt, drugstore brand Amazon

Dr Teal's Topical Magnesium Spray, Fragrance Free, 8 fl oz (pack of 2)

The one spray here built mainly on magnesium sulfate, Epsom salt, with Dead Sea magnesium chloride listed second; the full ingredient list adds pentylene glycol, sodium benzoate and citric acid, according to the same fragrance-free spray’s listing at H-E-B. The listing says to massage it into feet or areas of discomfort and let it dry. It states no magnesium per spray. Sold by Amazon.com, as a two-pack.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Our pick · Highest stated dose per spray Amazon

Aromasong Magnesium Spray, Extra Strength, 8 oz

Dead Sea magnesium, and the highest per-spray figure we found on a listing: 23 mg of elemental magnesium per spray. The listing is frank about the residue, saying the brine may dry sticky and can be rinsed off after about 20 minutes, and suggests diluting with 50% water if it stings. It also calls the tingle “a normal sign of magnesium deficiency”. There is no evidence for that; the sting is the salt.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Our pick · Sensitive skin Amazon

ASUTRA Zechstein Pure Magnesium Oil Spray, 4 fl oz

Zechstein magnesium chloride in what the listing calls a concentrated sensitive-skin formula with “less sting, less itch”. The directions are the heaviest here: 15 sprays morning and night, 30 a day, with one bottle lasting 30 days. It is the smallest bottle of the five and states no magnesium per spray, so the “less sting” claim cannot be checked against a stated concentration. We have not tested whether it stings less.

Check price on Amazon

We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.

Spec, label- or listing-statedNOW SolutionsAncient Minerals UltraDr Teal’s Fragrance FreeAromasong Extra StrengthASUTRA
Magnesium saltChlorideChloride (Zechstein)Sulfate first, then chloride (Dead Sea)Dead Sea magnesium; salt form not stated in the bulletsChloride (Zechstein)
Magnesium per spray~16.5 mg (66 mg / 4 sprays)~9 mg (55 mg / mL, 6 sprays per mL)Not stated23 mgNot stated
Other ingredientsNoneOptiMSM, 110 mg / mLPentylene glycol, sodium benzoate, citric acidNot stated in the bulletsNot stated in the bullets
FragranceNoneNone (“no-fragrance formula”)Fragrance-freeNot statedNot stated
Directions2 to 5 sprays4 to 6 spraysNot stated as a countNot stated in the bullets30 sprays a day
Bottle8 fl oz8 oz8 fl oz, pack of 28 oz4 fl oz

Every cell is what the Amazon listing or the manufacturer’s own page states as of 15 October 2026, not a measurement. Per-spray figures marked ~ are our division of the brand’s per-millilitre or per-four-spray figure. “Not stated” means we did not find it, not that the product lacks it.

Magnesium oil spray: what “oil” means

“Magnesium oil” is a name, not a description. There is no oil in any of these bottles. It is a concentrated solution of magnesium chloride in water, and the slick, slightly oily feel on the skin is what a near-saturated brine feels like. Ancient Minerals says as much in the FAQ on its own site.

That matters for two practical reasons. A brine does not soak in the way a lotion does; the water evaporates and leaves salt behind, which is the white film or tackiness every brand mentions. And a stronger brine stings more. The concentration is what you are choosing when you choose between, say, Ancient Minerals’ original oil at 100 mg of magnesium per millilitre and its Ultra at 55.

Magnesium chloride spray vs magnesium sulfate

Almost every magnesium spray is magnesium chloride. Dr Teal’s is the notable exception, built on magnesium sulfate, the compound sold as Epsom salt.

The chemistry difference in the bottle is smaller than the marketing makes it sound. Magnesium chloride hexahydrate, the form in flakes, is about 12% magnesium by weight; Epsom salt, magnesium sulfate heptahydrate, is about 10%. Both dissolve readily in water. Neither has been shown to cross skin better than the other, and the 2017 review that found transdermal magnesium unsupported covered sprays, flakes and Epsom salt baths alike.

So the choice comes down to what else you are getting. The chloride sprays here are mostly water and salt. Dr Teal’s adds a glycol and a preservative, which some people will prefer for feel and others will avoid for exactly that reason.

Pure magnesium oil spray: what “pure” can and cannot mean

“Pure” on a magnesium spray can mean two checkable things: the ingredient list is water and magnesium chloride and nothing else, as on NOW’s bottle; or the salt comes from a named source, usually the Zechstein seabed under northern Europe or the Dead Sea. Both are fair claims. Neither tells you anything about absorption.

It cannot mean the long list of health claims that often sits next to it. One widely sold pure magnesium oil on Amazon states on its listing that two out of three people are magnesium deficient and that a spray is the best way to get magnesium delivered “at a cellular level”. We did not pick it. The first claim is not what US survey data shows: the NIH reports that about half of Americans eat less magnesium than the estimated average requirement, while noting that symptomatic deficiency in healthy people is uncommon. The second claim is the one the evidence does not support.

Fragrance is the other place “pure” quietly stops applying. Alo’s Magnesium Reset Spray, for instance, is scented with mandarin orange and other essential oils and adds plant extracts including amla, valerian and arnica, according to Alo’s own blog, which also says three spritzes deliver 45 mg of magnesium. That is a choice about feel, and a reasonable one, but it is not a pure oil, and fragrance is a common reason for skin reactions.

Dr Teal’s magnesium spray

Dr Teal’s is the brand most people know from Epsom salt soaks, and its spray brings the same salt to a bottle: magnesium sulfate first, Dead Sea magnesium chloride second, then a glycol and a preservative. Its label warns against open or irritated skin and contact with eyes. Its strengths are familiarity and the fragrance-free formula. Its weakness here is that it gives no magnesium per spray, so its dose cannot be set against NOW’s 16.5 mg or Aromasong’s 23 mg. If a stated dose matters to you, it is not the bottle to buy.

How to use magnesium spray

The labels broadly agree on the method, even where they disagree on the amount:

  1. Patch-test first. A couple of sprays on the inside of the forearm, then wait. If it is still stinging or red after the first application, dilute 1:1 with water, which Ancient Minerals and Aromasong both suggest, or stop.
  2. Apply to clean, dry skin on the arms, legs, shoulders, back or feet, and rub it in. Avoid freshly shaved or broken skin and keep it out of your eyes.
  3. Follow the stated count. That ranges from two to five sprays (NOW) to 30 a day (ASUTRA). More sprays put more salt on your skin; there is no evidence they put more magnesium in you.
  4. Wipe or rinse after about 20 minutes if it dries sticky. The white film is salt.

How to make magnesium spray (DIY magnesium oil)

Homemade magnesium oil is magnesium chloride flakes and distilled water, the cheapest way into the category by a wide margin. The usual home recipe is equal volumes of each:

  1. Heat half a cup of distilled water until hot. Distilled, because tap water brings its own minerals and microbes into a bottle you will keep for weeks.
  2. Stir in half a cup of magnesium chloride flakes until fully dissolved.
  3. Let it cool and pour it into a clean glass or plastic spray bottle.

The arithmetic: NOW states that one cup of its magnesium chloride flakes holds about 19 grams of elemental magnesium, so half a cup is roughly 9.5 g. Dissolved in half a cup of water, that gives about 170 millilitres of solution once the flakes’ own water of crystallization joins in, or very roughly 55 to 60 mg of magnesium per millilitre. That is close to Ancient Minerals’ Ultra (55) and a little over half its original oil (100). Treat it as an estimate: how tightly flakes pack in a cup changes the answer by a fair margin. Use more water if it stings.

Use magnesium chloride flakes, not Epsom salt, which makes a sulfate solution rather than magnesium oil. With no preservative, make small batches and throw out anything that turns cloudy.

What we have not measured

We have not tested any of these sprays. Every figure on this page, from magnesium per spray to bottle size and the “less sting” claim, is manufacturer- or listing-stated as of 15 October 2026, and each sentence says which. The DIY concentration is our arithmetic, not a measurement.

Two things here can be checked on a bench, and we owe them. Dose: weigh 50 sprays from each bottle on a 0.01 g scale to get millilitres per spray, then titrate a 1:1,000 dilution with a water-hardness EDTA kit to get milligrams of magnesium per millilitre, and compare the product with the label. One bottle per brand is the limit of that test, and pump pressure changes spray volume, so we would publish the spread across the 50 sprays, not one number. Sting: a blinded comparison on matched forearm patches, reported as one tester’s ranking, n=1 and subjective, not a finding.

Absorption is not on that list because it cannot be measured on a bench. It needs blood and urine samples and a placebo arm. Our how we test page says the same about every product figure on the site.

What we would buy

If you want to try a magnesium spray, the NOW Solutions bottle: two ingredients, a stated dose, sold by Amazon itself. If it stings, dilute it before switching brands. If you want to spend almost nothing, make it from flakes. And if you are buying it to fix cramps or sleep, read the evidence page first; the honest case for a spray is a cheap, low-risk skin routine, not a supplement.

More Recovery Tools guides How we test

Questions buyers actually ask

Is magnesium chloride or magnesium sulfate better in a spray?

Neither has been shown to cross the skin better. Chloride is what "magnesium oil" means: a concentrated magnesium chloride brine, and the form almost every spray uses. Sulfate is Epsom salt, used by Dr Teal's. By weight, magnesium chloride hexahydrate is about 12% magnesium and Epsom salt about 10%, so the difference in the bottle is small. Choose on stated dose, ingredients and how your skin tolerates it.

How do you use magnesium spray?

Spray onto clean, dry skin, usually arms, legs, shoulders or feet, and rub it in. Label directions range from 2 to 5 sprays (NOW) to 30 a day (ASUTRA). Expect a tingle, wipe or rinse off any sticky residue after about 20 minutes, keep it off broken skin and out of your eyes, and patch-test a small area first.

How do you make magnesium spray at home?

Dissolve magnesium chloride flakes in an equal volume of hot distilled water, let it cool, and pour it into a clean spray bottle. By our arithmetic from NOW's figure of about 19 g of magnesium per cup of flakes, half a cup of each makes a solution of very roughly 55 to 60 mg of magnesium per millilitre, close to Ancient Minerals' Ultra. Use magnesium chloride, not Epsom salt, if you want the classic oil.

Is Dr Teal's magnesium spray good?

It is the one mainstream spray built mainly on magnesium sulfate (Epsom salt), with Dead Sea magnesium chloride second, plus a preservative system. The fragrance-free version suits people who want a familiar drugstore brand and no scent. It does not state magnesium per spray, so you cannot compare its dose with the chloride sprays.

Is magnesium spray safe?

For most people the risks are on the skin: stinging, itching and a salt residue. Ask a clinician first if you have kidney disease, since the kidneys clear excess magnesium, if you are pregnant, or if you take bisphosphonates, tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, diuretics or long-term acid reducers, all of which interact with magnesium. Keep it away from eyes and open skin.

Size it, wire it, price it — before you order anything.

A spreadsheet that sizes your heater in kW, prices the 240V circuit, calculates chiller horsepower for your ambient temperature, and totals the installed cost. One email, no sequence.

  • Heater kW calculator
  • Circuit & permit costs
  • Chiller sizing
  • Installed-cost total

No spam, no drip sequence. Unsubscribe in one click.

Prices and specifications change constantly in this category. We re-verify every figure on this page against manufacturer sources on a rolling basis; the update date above is when that last happened. Spot something stale? Tell us.