Independent and reader-supported. We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are never sold, and every figure says where it came from. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure
Short answer
Three of the six heated blankets here state a temperature range on the listing: 87 to 126°F (Sealy queen), 85 to 110°F (EHEYCIGA) and 95 to 113°F (Sealy throw). Warming the skin by 0.78°C shortened sleep onset by 26% in a laboratory study of eight adults; a bed kept warm all night raises wakefulness and reduces deep sleep. NFPA counted about 480 US home fires a year involving electric blankets in 2002 to 2005, almost all in blankets over ten years old.
A heated blanket is a resistance wire sewn through fleece, a thermostat, and a controller. It is the cheapest thing on our recovery tools shelf by some distance, the only one with a real season, and the one with the clearest physiology: warm skin makes you fall asleep faster. The catch is in the second half of that physiology, which is that a bed kept warm all night makes you sleep worse, and in the listings, which sell “fast heating” and “cozy” and almost never say how hot.
So this page is built around the three listings that do say, the manuals’ list of who should never use one, and the two things that actually hurt people: a blanket on skin that cannot feel it, and a ten-year-old blanket with a tired controller.
What a heated blanket does for sleep
The mechanism is better evidenced than most things on this site. In 1999, Kräuchi and colleagues reported in Nature that the best predictor of how fast people fell asleep was heat loss from the hands and feet: the body opens the blood vessels in the extremities, dumps heat, and the core temperature falls, which is the signal to sleep. Raymann and colleagues, in 2005, then warmed people directly: in eight adults across 144 sleep-onset tests, raising the skin of the trunk by 0.78°C shortened the time to fall asleep by 26%, about three minutes off a twelve-minute baseline, while warming the extremities or the core did nothing. Their 2007 follow-up with heated bed socks shortened sleep onset in healthy adults, less so in older adults, and not at all in elderly insomniacs.
Then the other half. Okamoto-Mizuno and Mizuno’s review of the thermal environment and sleep finds that, under bedding, heat exposure increases wakefulness and reduces slow-wave and REM sleep; the bed microclimate during normal sleep runs 32 to 34°C. In one of their experiments, eight men sleeping at 32°C and 80% humidity had more wakefulness and less deep sleep in the first four hours than at 26°C.
Put together: a heated blanket is for getting into a warm bed, and the right way to use it is the way the manuals describe their preheat function, which is to warm the bed before you get in and then turn it down or off. We found no randomised trial of a consumer heated blanket on sleep onset or sleep quality with numbers in it, which is the measurement this page owes.
The spec that matters: the temperature it states
Every listing on this page says “fast”, “even”, “cozy” and gives a count of heat levels. Three say what those levels are:
| Listing-stated, 26 Oct 2026 | Size | Heat levels | Stated range | Auto-off | Dual control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bedsure queen | 84 × 90 in | 6 | not stated | 1–10 h timer, 8 h default | yes |
| Sunbeam Royal Ultra queen | 90 × 84 in | 12 | not stated | 1–12 h selectable | yes |
| Sealy queen | 84 × 90 in | 10 | 87–126°F | 1–12 h selectable | yes |
| EHEYCIGA queen | 84 × 90 in | 9 | 85–110°F | 10 h | yes |
| Bedsure throw | 50 × 60 in | 6 | not stated | 1–10 h timer, 8 h default | single |
| Sealy throw | 50 × 60 in | 6 | 95–113°F | 2–10 h | single |
Why the range matters more than the count: the bed microclimate you sleep in is 32 to 34°C, which is 90 to 93°F. A blanket whose lowest setting is 95°F is already above it; a blanket with a floor of 85°F can hold a bed near where sleep physiology wants it. The tops matter for a different reason. Skin held at 111°F (44°C) is injured after about six hours by the burn thresholds our heating pad page walks through, and a top setting of 126°F is above that. None of these blankets delivers its stated temperature to your skin through a sheet with the thermostat cycling, and none of the makers says what it does deliver. The floor is the number to buy on; the top is the number to stay away from.
The rest of the sheet:
- Auto-off. Every full-size blanket here stops after a set time; the manuals we read (Sunbeam’s) default to 10 hours for bedding and 3 hours for throws, and several of the blankets here let you choose 1 to 12 hours. The timer is a fire and burn backstop, not a sleep setting; set it shorter than your night.
- Dual control. Two controllers, two zones, on a queen or king. The one feature that stops the argument.
- Preheat. Runs high for a fixed period (30 minutes, in the Sunbeam manual) and then drops to your setting. This is the physiology above, built in.
- Certification. ETL or UL listing means the blanket was tested to UL 964, the electrically heated bedding standard; every blanket here states ETL. Buy nothing without it.
- Detachable controller. What makes a blanket washable. All six here detach.
- Power. The nameplate figures we could find are 100 to 200 W for a full blanket and 50 to 100 W for a throw, manufacturer-stated; a utility’s estimate is about 2 cents an hour. Eight hours on 100 W is 0.8 kWh, against about 12 kWh for a 1,500 W space heater over the same night, which is the entire economic case for heating the bed instead of the room.
- Low-voltage designs. Some blankets run the wire at under 25 V DC from a transformer on the floor rather than at 120 V in the bed. The claim is lower electromagnetic fields and a safer wire; the only sources are the makers’ own pages, so we list it as a design choice, not a measured benefit.
Who should not use a heated blanket
The Sunbeam manual’s first warning, which the other makers echo, says the blanket is not for an infant or child, an incapacitated or immobile person, a paraplegic or quadriplegic, a diabetic, anyone insensitive to heat because of poor circulation, or anyone unable to understand the instructions. UL adds urinary incontinence, because a wet blanket is an electrical hazard. The London Fire Brigade adds: never with a hot water bottle, never with an airflow mattress, and replace it at ten years.
The case reports are why. Chang and colleagues reported 16 consecutive diabetic patients with neuropathy burned by heat applications over six years at one hospital: mean age 65, 44% with wound infections, three amputations, a mean hospital stay of 28 days. Two deaths from heat stroke on electric blankets have been published, a 41-year-old man and a 13-year-old girl, both with core temperatures over 41°C. Months of nightly skin contact produces erythema ab igne, a net-like brown discolouration, in several reports. And one case report describes a pacemaker resetting twice in an 85-year-old woman until she stopped using her electric blanket, although the device makers themselves list blankets as safe in normal use.
On pregnancy, the evidence is a set of association studies about the magnetic fields of 1980s and 1990s blankets, and it mostly comes out clean: a cohort of 23,491 women found a relative risk of 1.2 with a confidence interval spanning 0.5 to 2.6 for electric blanket use against 2.9 for hot tubs; a prospective study found an odds ratio of 0.8; one case-control study found a borderline 1.74 with no dose-response. No obstetric body has issued guidance either way. The sensible reading is the one for saunas: the concern is core temperature, so warm the bed and turn it off.
Fires: the ten-year rule
NFPA’s analysis of home fires involving portable heating appliances counted about 480 non-confined home fires a year involving electric blankets in 2002 to 2005, with heating pads at about 280. The Electrical Safety Foundation International puts the modern figure at around 500 fires a year and says almost all involve blankets more than ten years old. That is the rule most fire services give: ten years, then replace, and inspect before each season for scorch marks, worn patches, exposed wire or a frayed cord.
The newer problem is controllers on new blankets. In March 2023 the Consumer Product Safety Commission announced a recall of about 350,000 Bedsure heated blankets and pads after 137 reports of fire and 17 burn injuries, and two further recalls in 2026 covered about 178,000 Octrot throws (555 reports of melting or sparking, 27 fires) and about 195,000 JKMAX blankets (577 reports, 53 burn injuries). Bedsure is on this page: its current blankets are a different listing, state ETL and FCC certification and an 8-hour auto-off, and describe in-house testing beyond UL, which is the right answer to a recall. Check the CPSC recall list for the model you own, whatever the brand.
The best heated blankets: our picks
Every spec below is from the Amazon listing on 26 October 2026, read from a US delivery session. We have not run, measured or washed any of them. All six sit in Amazon’s Home category.
The queen blankets that state a range
Sealy electric blanket, queen, dual control, 10 heat levels
The one listing here that states both ends of its range: ten settings from 87 to 126°F, listing-stated, on two independent controllers, with a 1-to-12-hour selectable auto-off, overheat protection, ETL and FCC certification, a continuous-sensing thermostat the listing says holds the set level, and flannel on one side and sherpa on the other. The 87°F floor is the lowest here after the EHEYCIGA and sits right at the bed microclimate; the 126°F top is above the burn threshold and is where the listing’s wattage goes, so treat the top three settings as the preheat. It was sold by Silkyrest, a third-party seller, shipped by Amazon when we checked, so look at the return terms. The listing’s “lower electromagnetic radiation” is a claim with no figure.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
EHEYCIGA electric heated blanket, queen, 9 heat levels, 85–110°F
Picked for its ceiling as much as its floor. Nine settings from 85 to 110°F, listing-stated, which means its hottest setting is still under the 111°F skin-injury line and its lowest is below the bed microclimate, so the whole dial is usable rather than just the bottom of it. The listing adds a 10-hour auto-off, overheat protection, ETL certification, dual left and right controllers, a detachable controller for the washing machine, and faux fur over sherpa; it claims warmth in ten minutes, which we have not timed. Sold by Spark Official-US, shipped by Amazon when we checked. The brand is newer than the others here, which is the trade for the honest dial.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
The queen blankets everyone buys
Bedsure heated blanket, queen, dual control, preheat
The listing Google ranks second for “electric blanket” is the throw version of this blanket; this is the queen. Six heat levels and six timer settings from 1 to 10 hours with an 8-hour default, dual controllers, a preheat mode, ETL and FCC certification, a machine-washable flannel and sherpa body, and a stated 74-point in-house safety test programme beyond UL, all listing-stated. The listing says it ranked top in Good Housekeeping’s 2025 test of twelve blankets; we have not read that test. What it does not state is a temperature, and the brand’s 2023 recall is above. The timer is the reason to buy it: set it to one or two hours, let the preheat do the physiology, and sleep in a bed that cools. Sold by Bedsure Essentials, shipped by Amazon when we checked.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
Sunbeam Royal Ultra fleece heated blanket, queen, 12 settings
The brand whose manual we quote above, sold and shipped by Amazon itself. The listing states dual digital controllers with a backlit display, twelve heat settings, a 1-to-12-hour selectable auto-off, “heat-sensing” wiring that adjusts to hold the set warmth, a 100% polyester fleece body, and a detachable controller for machine washing and drying. No temperature range is stated, and the ratings on it are a little lower than the others here, with the controllers the usual complaint. It is on the page because Sunbeam’s safety documentation is the most complete we found and because a blanket sold by Amazon has the simplest return path. Twelve settings with no range is still a dial without numbers.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
The throws
Sealy electric heated throw, 50 × 60 in, 6 levels, 95–113°F
The throw that states a range: six settings from 95 to 113°F, listing-stated, which puts its floor above the bed microclimate and its top just above the skin-injury line, so this is a sofa blanket, not a sleeping one. A 2-to-10-hour timed auto-off, overheat protection, ETL and FCC certification, and 240 gsm sherpa on both sides. The listing calls it energy-efficient; a throw’s wire is about half a full blanket’s, so that is true of every throw. Sold by Silkyrest, a third-party seller, shipped by Amazon when we checked.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
Bedsure heated throw, 50 × 60 in, preheat, 6 levels
The Amazon listing that ranks on page one for “electric blanket” itself. Six heat levels, six timer settings from 1 to 10 hours with an 8-hour default, a preheat mode, ETL and FCC certification, a 220 gsm flannel top over 200 gsm sherpa, and a detachable controller, all listing-stated; no temperature range. A throw’s auto-off convention in the Sunbeam manual is 3 hours, and this one defaults to 8, so set the timer yourself. Sold by Bedsure Essentials, shipped by Amazon when we checked. The Westinghouse queen (ten levels, 1-to-12-hour timer, ETL, sold by a third party) is the other blanket in this class we would consider; it states no range either.
We do not publish a price for Amazon products. Amazon listings reprice constantly and the figure would be stale before you read it.
Cordless, battery and heated weighted blankets
Three of the queries behind this page are for cordless, battery-powered or USB blankets, and we have no pick. Everything the search returned was either a USB shawl from a brand with no store page, a battery blanket with few ratings and middling ones, or a listing that was not cordless at all. The physics is against them: a 5,000 mAh power bank holds about 18 Wh, which is ten minutes of a 100 W blanket, so a “cordless heated blanket” is a warm scarf with a battery. If you want heat you can walk around in, the cordless belt on our heating pad page is the honest version.
Heated weighted blankets exist, at 13 to 15 lb with a heating element, and the listings we found had small review histories and no stated temperatures. Weight and heat together on someone who cannot move easily is the combination every manual warns about. The weighted heating pad on the heating pad page does the same job on a lower back without covering you.
How to wash a heated blanket
The washing question outnumbers the buying question in the search data, so here is the answer the six listings and the Sunbeam manual agree on:
- Unplug the blanket and detach the controller. If the cord does not detach, the blanket is not washable; sponge it.
- Inspect it first. Scorch marks, worn or thin patches, exposed wire, a frayed cord or a cracked plug mean it is finished, not washable.
- Machine wash, gentle cycle, cool or warm water, mild detergent, no bleach, no fabric softener. Do not wring it; the wire does not like being twisted.
- Dry on low heat for a short cycle or air dry flat, per the maker; Sunbeam’s manual allows tumble drying, some others say low only. Never dry clean, never iron, never dry on a radiator.
- Check the wire is still flat when it comes out, reconnect the controller, and run it for a few minutes before it goes back on the bed. Any smell of hot plastic is the end of the blanket.
Heated blanket vs the rest of the shelf
- A heating pad is the same wire for a sore back, with the one guideline recommendation on this shelf, and it is the thing you use on your body rather than your bed.
- A sauna blanket is a heated blanket you zip yourself into at far higher temperatures; it is a sweat session, not a bed.
- A weighted blanket without heat is the sleep product with the better evidence for anxiety, and it does not need a cord.
- Mouth tape and the rest of the sleep shelf are for a different problem; a heated blanket is for the three minutes of falling asleep and the cold feet that stop it.
- A heated mattress topper is not what that page covers; a heated mattress pad is a blanket under you, and the manuals treat it the same way.
What we have not measured
Every temperature, timer, wattage and fabric weight here is listing-stated as of 26 October 2026. We have not run, timed, washed or measured any of these blankets.
The test is cheap and overdue. Each blanket flat on a mattress under a cotton sheet with a K-type thermocouple on the blanket surface and a second one on top of the sheet, logged every 30 seconds through each setting from cold until the thermostat cycles, which gives the number none of the listings give: the skin-side temperature at the floor and ceiling of each dial, and the swing around it. A plug-in power meter for watts and the per-night kilowatt-hours at a middle setting. A stopwatch on the preheat and on the auto-off. And ten washes per the label, with the surface temperature re-measured after, because a washed wire is the fire-service worry. A day per blanket, one unit each, n=1, with the usual caveat that foam and a sheet are not a sleeping body, which carries heat away.
What we would buy
For a bed you sleep in: the EHEYCIGA, whose whole dial sits between the bed microclimate and the skin-injury line, or the Sealy queen if you want a hotter preheat and will stay off the top settings.
For a bed shared with someone who runs a different temperature: either of those, or the Bedsure queen with its timer set to an hour.
If you want the brand whose manual we quote and a return path through Amazon itself: the Sunbeam Royal Ultra.
For the sofa: the Sealy throw, which says how hot it gets, or the Bedsure throw, which does not.
Whichever one: preheat, get in, turn it down, and replace it in ten years. Our how we test page says what every figure here is and is not.
More Recovery Tools guides How we test
Questions buyers actually ask
Is it safe to sleep with a heated blanket on?
The manuals say the blanket is designed for it, with the auto-off as the backstop, and the physiology says you will sleep better if you do not: a warm bed shortens the time to fall asleep, and a bed that stays hot raises wakefulness and cuts deep sleep. Preheat, get in, turn it down or off. Never sleep on one if you have diabetic neuropathy, reduced sensation or incontinence, never with a hot water bottle, and replace a blanket that is more than ten years old or shows worn spots or a frayed cord.
Can you wash a heated blanket?
Every blanket on this page says yes: unplug and detach the controller, machine wash on a gentle cycle in cool or warm water, and dry on low or air dry, with no wringing, no dry cleaning and no ironing. The detachable controller is the part that matters; if the cord does not unplug from the blanket, it is not washable. Check the blanket for exposed wire or scorch marks each time it comes out of the wash, which is the inspection the fire services ask for.
How much electricity does a heated blanket use?
About 100 to 200 W at full output for a full-size blanket and 50 to 100 W for a throw, by the nameplate figures we could find; the thermostat cycles, so the average is lower. Eight hours on a 100 W blanket is 0.8 kWh, roughly 12 cents at 15 cents a kilowatt-hour, against about 12 kWh for a 1,500 W space heater over the same night. Heating the bed instead of the room is the whole economic case.
Can you use a heated blanket while pregnant?
Ask your obstetric clinician first. The studies are old association studies of 60 Hz magnetic fields, and the larger prospective ones found no increased risk; a 1998 case-control study found a borderline association with miscarriage and no dose-response, and no official obstetric body has issued guidance either way. The practical concern is simpler: core temperature. Use it to warm the bed and turn it off, and keep it off the abdomen.
Can a heated blanket cause burns?
Yes, mostly in people who cannot feel it. A series of 16 diabetic patients with neuropathy burned by heat applications included three amputations; the manuals exclude diabetics, infants, and anyone immobile or insensitive to heat for that reason. Months of nightly skin contact can also cause erythema ab igne, a net-like brown discolouration, which is why the blanket goes over a sheet. Two deaths from heat stroke on electric blankets have been published. The number on the dial is not a skin temperature.
Do heated blankets cause fires?
About 480 US home fires a year involved electric blankets in 2002 to 2005, by NFPA's count, and the Electrical Safety Foundation says almost all involve blankets over ten years old. Recent recalls were controller faults on new blankets, including a 2023 recall of 350,000 Bedsure units after 137 fire reports. Buy a listed blanket (ETL or UL), replace it at ten years, never fold or bunch it in use, never run it with another heating device, and never leave it on when you leave the house.
Sources
What the figures and claims above rest on. Each was read on the date given; where a figure is manufacturer-stated, the manufacturer's own page is the source.
- Warm feet promote the rapid onset of sleep
- Cutaneous warming promotes sleep onset
- Heat stroke deaths caused by electric blankets: case report and review of the literature
- Erythema ab igne: a case report and review of the literature
- Erythema ab igne due to heating pad use: a case report and review of clinical presentation, prevention, and complications
- Severe burn injury from the common Asian practice of heat application in patients with diabetic neuropathy Why the page is firm about heat and reduced sensation.
- Maternal heat exposure and neural tube defects
Size it, wire it, price it — before you order anything.
A spreadsheet that sizes your heater in kW, prices the 240V circuit, calculates chiller horsepower for your ambient temperature, and totals the installed cost. One email, no sequence.
- Heater kW calculator
- Circuit & permit costs
- Chiller sizing
- Installed-cost total
Prices and specifications change constantly in this category. We re-verify every figure on this page against manufacturer sources on a rolling basis; the update date above is when that last happened. Spot something stale? Tell us.